Mon, 11 Dec 2023

Leagues Cup 2023 groups set for MLS, Liga MX clubs

Field Level Media
21 Jan 2023, 04:19 GMT+10

The groups were announced Friday for the 2023 Leagues Cup featuring all 47 clubs from MLS and Liga MX.

The official CONCACAF competition takes place from July 21-Aug. 19 at MLS stadiums in the U.S. and Canada.

Three teams from the Leagues Cup will qualify for the 2024 CONCACAF Champions League.

Two teams received byes directly into the Round of 32 knockout stage based on last year's performance: 2022 MLS Cup champion Los Angeles FC and Liga MX champion Pachuca.

The remaining teams were divided into 15 groups across four regions -- West, Central, South and East -- based on their geographic location and 2022 performance.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the knockout round. No matches in the group stage will end in a tie, with a penalty shootout deciding the winner if necessary. Regulation wins are worth three points, while PK shootout wins are worth two and PK shootout losses count as one point.


West 1: Tigres UANL (No. 2 LIGA MX), Portland Timbers (No. 14 MLS), San Jose Earthquakes (No. 25 MLS)

West 2: Monterrey (No. 3 LIGA MX), Real Salt Lake (No. 13 MLS), Seattle Sounders FC (No. 20 MLS)

West 3: LA Galaxy (No. 7 MLS), Club Leon (No. 9 LIGA MX), Vancouver Whitecaps FC (No. 16 MLS)


Central 1: America (No. 1 LIGA MX), Columbus Crew (No. 15 MLS), St. Louis CITY SC (No. 28 MLS)

Central 2: Puebla (No. 6 LIGA MX), Minnesota United FC (No. 10 MLS), Chicago Fire FC (No. 23 MLS)

Central 3: Chivas Guadalajara (No. 7 LIGA MX), FC Cincinnati (No. 9 MLS), Sporting Kansas City (No. 21 MLS)

Central 4: Nashville SC (No. 8 MLS), Toluca (No. 8 LIGA MX), Colorado Rapids (No. 17 MLS)


South 1: Austin FC (No. 3 MLS), Mazatlan FC (No. 13 LIGA MX), FC Juarez (No. 16 LIGA MX)

South 2: Santos Laguna (No. 4 LIGA MX), Orlando City SC (No. 12 MLS), Houston Dynamo FC (No. 24 MLS)

South 3: Cruz Azul (No. 5 LIGA MX), Inter Miami CF (No. 11 MLS), Atlanta United (No. 22 MLS)

South 4: FC Dallas (No. 6 MLS), Necaxa (No. 10 LIGA MX), Charlotte FC (No. 18 MLS)


East 1: Philadelphia Union (No. 1 MLS), Club Tijuana (No. 15 LIGA MX), Queretaro (No. 17 LIGA MX)

East 2: CF Montreal (No. 2 MLS), Pumas (No. 14 LIGA MX), D.C. United (No. 27 MLS)

East 3: New York City FC (No. 4 MLS), Atlas (No. 12 LIGA MX), Toronto FC (No. 26 MLS)

East 4: New York Red Bulls (No. 5 MLS), Atletico de San Luis (No. 11 LIGA MX), New England Revolution (No. 19 MLS)

--Field Level Media

More Montreal News

Access More

Sign up for Montreal News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!